top of page
Search
  • Romello Styes

The Black Mamba: 8/24


Rest in Peace Kobe and GiGi Bryant

Being born in 1993 by the time Kobe "Bean" Bryant was drafted by the Charlotte Hornets and traded to the Los Angeles Lakers, I was just coming into my own at the age of three. I was beginning to understand things. One of those things was sports. Michael Jordan had been around a while, but Kobe was coming into his own. I do not remember when Kobe air balled four times against the Utah Jazz in 1997.

What I remember was Bryant's biggest moments after. I remember the slam dunk contest. I remember the Championships with Shaq. I remember the down times in Kobe's life when it came to Colorado. I remember when he wanted to be traded. I remember when Kwame Brown was traded for Paul Gasol, and Kobe would lead the Lakers to two more NBA Championships to bring his total to five.

What sticks in my mind the most was Kobe's final game where he scored 60 points. All I could think about was that everyone who didn't get to see Kobe through the years like I did could see this game and know how great he was. A year after Kobe retired It would be my 24th Birthday and somehow and someway I happened to be in the thrift store I found a number 24 Kobe Bryant jersey, it was two sizes too big, but I didn't care because it was Kobe. So, I paid for it and threw it on right over my hoodie, it draped down to my knees but I did not care the least bit.

I always admired Bryant's "Mamba Mentality," it made me want to be the best in my field and out work everyone. I cried just like a lot of people when I heard the news of Kobe Bryant's passing, but what kept the tears flowing is seeing how many lives he touched. Kobe Bryant the man stood for striving to be great no matter what. What took a piece of my soul was finding out his 13 year old daughter Gianna Bryant was on the flight with him. She made me believe that Womens' Basketball had a bright future. Her smile when she would be court side with her dad watching the game was something I will always remember. I never met Kobe Bryant, but I never met Michael Jackson either and I cried when he died. Losing Kobe feels like I lost an uncle. Kobe was a huge part of my youth and now he is gone. This is one of those things like the late, great Nipsey Hussle, like Michael Jackson I will never forget. Thank you, Kobe for the memories.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page